top of page
2024_Toomey_and_ Larouche_guest_demo (21)_edited.jpg
DSC_0050.jpg
Charlie_BTS_Goblet_JamFactory_Photo-7.jpg

I discovered glass in 2017 when I arrived at Espace Verre. During my studies, I developed a deep passion for the work of blown glass. I graduated from Espace Verre in 2020. Since then, I have been refining my technique by following training with masters   and I learn about this unique material every day.

''In order to grow as an artist, I enter into an intimate relationship with the material in order to learn to know it. The glass is alive. By itself, it evolves and transforms. We must take care of it, listen to it and be attentive in its presence. By engaging this relationship with the molten material, I learn about its faults, its qualities and its preferences.

 

It is by making Venitian inspired goblets that I engage a conversation with the glass. These delicate objects, made for centuries on the island of Murano, demonstrate through the choreography required for their manufacture, all the whims and all the virtues of the material. The traditional Venetian techniques as well as the modern techniques used in the creation of these works are of great complexity and above all require knowledge of the glass. The manufacture of each piece acts as an interview with the latter. Little by little, the choreography is more fluid. The finished product reflects the harmony of my relationship with the material. Each irregularity, in the shape, the proportions and the process of manufacture of these cups, testifies to an apprenticeship to come, a new way of acting in the company of the glass which must be acquired. They are proof of this relationship that evolves and makes me grow over time. A conversation that, one day, will seal my union with matter.''

bottom of page

DSC_0111.jpg

J'ai découvert le verre en 2017 lors de mon arrivée à Espace Verre. Durant mes études, j'ai développé une profonde passion pour le travail du verre soufflé. J'ai gradué d'Espace Verre en 2020. Depuis, je peaufine ma technique en suivant des formations auprès de maîtres  et j'en apprend sur cette matière unique à tout les jours.

''Afin de grandir comme artiste, j’entre dans une relation intime avec la matière dans le but d’apprendre à la connaitre. Le verre est vivant. Par lui-même, il évolue et se transforme. Il faut en prendre soin, l’écouter et être attentif en sa présence. En engageant cette relation avec la matière en fusion, j’apprends sur ses défauts, ses qualités et ses préférences.

 

C’est par la fabrication de coupes vénitiennes que j’engage la conversation avec le verre. Ces objets délicats, fabriqués depuis des siècles sur l’île de Murano, démontrent par la chorégraphie qu’exige leur fabrication, tous les caprices et toutes les vertus de la matière. Les techniques traditionnelles vénitiennes utilisées dans la création de ces œuvres sont d’une grande complexité et demande avant tout de connaitre le verre. Chaque pièce constitue un entretien avec la matière. Petit à petit, la chorégraphie est plus fluide. Le produit fini est à l’image de l’harmonie de ma relation avec la matière. Chaque irrégularité, dans la forme, les proportions et le procédé de fabrication des ces coupes, témoigne d’un apprentissage à venir, d’une nouvelle manière d’agir en compagnie du verre qui doit être acquise. Elles constituent les preuves de cette relation qui évolue et me fait grandir au fil du temps. Une conversation qui, un jour, scellera mon union avec la matière.‘’